What should I do if the driver who injured me in an auto accident didn’t have insurance?
If you are injured by a driver who does not have insurance, you may be able to turn to your own insurance policy to cover your losses.
Unfortunately, this situation arises more often than it should. It is estimated that 11 percent of South Carolina drivers are uninsured.
Under South Carolina law, your auto insurance policy must include uninsured motorist (UM) coverage in an amount equal to the state’s minimum liability limits of 25/50/25. This means $25,000 for bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 for bodily injury liability per accident and $25,000 for property damage per accident.
If you get in an accident with an uninsured motorist, your losses should be covered by this UM portion of your policy. However, your insurance company may deny your claim or challenge the amount you deserve. If this occurs, it is important to have the help of an experienced Upstate South Carolina auto accident attorney.
For more information, please see our page on Understanding Your Auto Insurance Coverage.
Posted in: Car Accidents